Summon the Wild

Time flies when you are having fun… and are being kept busy. My life suddenly got extremely busy during the spring and things are still comming at me in an endless stream of new impressions and opportunities. I am trying to keep up with it all, but that means that the blog had to come in second. I will try to pick up my blogging again now, to write down my thoughts and impressions at least once a week and share with you all.

The first thing you should know is that I have graduated from the Academy of Music in Piteå and have now moved to Stockholm to study opera. I am attending a two year programme at Stockholm Operastudio, which belongs to a privately owned school called Kulturama. I have only been here for a month, but I love it already. It’s so much fun to completely immerse myself in theatre, stage presence, physical stage training and opera interpretation. We have our first real performance in two weeks and I am really looking forward to it.

I have moved into a nice student apartment here in Stockholm. It’s about 13 minutes by subway to the city centre and about 35 minutes away from school, which is really nice. It’s not incredibly big, but it is newly built and no one has lived in it before me, so that’s a huge plus. I love it. It’s just big enough for me.

I have also gotten a job, so I work around 27 hours a week on top of studying… this means I have to plan my life pretty carefully to avoid stress… something I haven’t quite managed to do just yet. I am working on it though, but the stress tends to creep up on me every once in a while anyway. This weekend has been one of those times and my vocal teacher recommended that I take today off and just go out in nature and breathe to de-stress a bit. So I called one of my best friends and we headed out to Djurgården and Rosendal’s Gardens and walked around and ate cookies. It was very nice and the weather was amazing. Now I feel calm and ready to take on the upcomming week.

Leave a Reply

