Pyre of the Deciever

Still not feeling well, but today I actually spent my time at home doing something productive… I wrote lyrics for a new song. Or at least I have started writing. Not sure if they’re completely finished, I’m sure they can do with some tweaking and adding to, but I’m pretty satisfied for now.

I usually write lyrics consisting of sappy love stuff or tragic love stuff. I am aware that this could be translated into something to that effect as well, though I have actually tried to get a different angle… this lyric could refer to all kinds of situations really. Interpret it as you wish.

When the night is dark
And full of terrors,
I need only remember;
One day I will watch you burn!

 I will stand by your pyre
The flames caressing the sky
The sound of your screams
Like music to my ears
Smiling in satisfaction,
I will watch you burn!

You set the rules
I followed along
You sold me lies
I bought them all
I’ve paid the price for believing
Now you’ll pay the price for deceiving

When the night is dark
And full of terrors,
I need only remember;
One day I will watch you burn!

 I will stand by your pyre
The flames caressing the sky
The sound of your screams
Like music to my ears
Smiling in satisfaction,
I will watch you burn!

One world destroyed
You moved on
I clung to the pieces,
The shattered pieces my life had become
I paid the price for believing
One day you’ll pay the price for decieving

As I said above, I’m not completely finished… but at least you get an idea of what I’ve been doing. I imagine this lyric together with some kind of heavy, deep, industrial sounding metal… kind of Pain/Hypocrisy meets Insomnium/Dark Tranquillity… and with female vocals. It may sound a bit… strange… but I think it would be pretty nice actually.

Leave a Reply

